Safety in fragrance ingredients reassessed

As part of the fragrance industry’s ongoing safety programme, the International Fragrance Association (IFRA) announced the 47th amendment to its code of practice. Its programme is founded on assessing fragrance materials and either establishing safe use levels or prohibiting their use, based on studying their potential effects on people and the environment.

The changes include:

Currently the safety programme contains 186 standards that restrict or prohibit the use of selected fragrance materials. The QRA approach is a more refined approach for evaluating sensitising materials, and provides more precise guidance on use levels of materials depending on the situation and the product in which they are used.

The IFRA Standards consists of 102 standards restricting the use of ingredients, 80 prohibiting the use of ingredients, and 20 setting a purity requirement. Compliance with these standards is mandatory for all companies belonging to IFRA directly or IFRA member associations, including the South African Association of the Flavour & Fragrance Industry.

The code of practice applies to the manufacture and handling of all fragrance materials, for all types of applications and contains the full set of IFRA standards.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Would you like to receive our FREE e-newsletter?

* indicates required